Lifestyle

06.10.17 // The Day I’ll Never Forget

June 10, 2017

The day my Dad, 49 years old, left this Earth and went to Heaven. So many people ask all the time, did you know your Dad was depressed? My answer is no. He was not close to depressed. He was the happiest guy ever. What happened to him mentally is beyond depression, anxiety, manic, bipolar, etc. It’s hard to talk about my Dad taking his life, but my family does not hide one thing. If you lived in our house, you would know that two weeks before my Dad died, he helped me cope during a panic attack. My Dad was one of the most calm, level headed guys I know. I woke up Saturday without even knowing I didn’t have a Dad anymore. I would not wish the grieving process on anyone. One day I’m go-lucky happy, the next I’m angry because I see people out and about with their Dad’s and I don’t think it’s fair. My Dad would not want me to be angry at people so I try my best to have positive thoughts. Within the 17 days since my Dad died, I have taken care of his flowers, spent more time outside than I ever did. I pray constantly, we go and visit him, and I feel like I have aged to a grown adult who helps take on new responsibilities. If my Dad was still here, I would probably be taking my time with him for granted, I would go and take a nap, maybe even pick an argument with him. Never take a day for granted with you loved ones. I know my Dad loved my family and his friends. His laugh was so contagious. You heart sunk when you saw him down, he had the rosiest cheeks ever from being outside everyday, all day. He loved the outdoors. He loved landscaping. He loved to put his kids first, above everything else. He loved teaching us new things, sports, watch videos, movies, try to places to eat. If you knew my dad his soft presence would light up the room. He never let me give up. He always was there to cheer me on not just on the ice, but in life. I’ll miss my Dad so so much and each day just gets harder and harder, but I know my Dad would want me to keep on keeping on. And that’s what I’ll do.

 

For whatever reason you are reading this, live everyday like it’s your last.

 

xoxo, Anna

4 thoughts on “06.10.17 // The Day I’ll Never Forget

  1. AWESOME summary Anna. Your words so relate to the In Touch Devotional of Rev/Dr Charles F. Stanley posted online today under the title THE POWER WITHIN. You are moving forward with the power within. You are exhibiting the four basic works of the Holy Spirit that Charles Stanley spells out in the next to the last paragraph.

    Blessings and comfort in your healing time.
    In His Love – David Young

    THE POWER WITHIN
    THURSDAY 29, 2017
    Ephesians 3:14-21

    Bertha Smith, a missionary to China, once pronounced some of the most discouraging words I’d ever heard: “Charles, I want to tell you that you’re as good as you’ll ever be. You’re as good as you’ve ever been, and you won’t ever be any better than you are.”

    I had grown up believing a falsehood—that believers were to pour effort into turning their flesh around and doing right all the time. Thankfully, Bertha wasn’t finished. “God never intended for you to get better, because you can’t improve flesh,” she said. “But the Holy Spirit, who is living inside you, will enable and live through you.”

    She was right. My flesh hasn’t changed one bit. But as the Holy Spirit releases His supernatural power in my life, I find myself going beyond what is inherent to the nature of man. And the indwelling Spirit intends to do the same with every follower of God.

    Although the works of the Holy Spirit are many, four are basic to the life of faith: The Spirit illumines the mind, enabling believers to understand the things of God; He energizes physical bodies to serve the Lord; He enables the will to follow through on doing what is right; and He quickens emotions to feel and express the fruit of the Spirit (Gal. 5:22-23).

    Bertha Smith passed on an important truth to me: Flesh is insufficient. Only the Holy Spirit living inside us has the strength and wisdom to live out the Christian life victoriously. That’s why God gave us His Spirit, through whom we reap all the benefits of a righteous and godly life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

