Lifestyle

A Letter to the Students

A couple weeks ago now, I spoke in front of a couple hundred sophomores and seniors. Who knew that I would be so nervous about speaking to younger people?  But what an experience. To step back into the high school that I once graduated from. To be honest, they say that those are some of the best years of your life, but I just wanted to move on with my life. I was never one to be boy crazy, I was involved with sports (not that good, but I loved to play), I got to know a lot of the faculty, and I did appreciate everything that they did for us.

Some people do not know, but I started to get anxiety again my senior year. I would sit in the counselors office on the daily. I was worried about getting into college, I had to take the ACT 4 times because my score was not up to par, I applied to 9 different schools, but did not get into any that were my number one choices. I ended up going to the University of Minnesota-Duluth and have no regrets.

I played the anxiety off and eventually graduated, but going back to the high school that I once walked through those over crowded halls, I felt that I was able to connect with the students that I spoke to. I have a huge support system having my youngest brother being a senior and some close friends following behind. I have a full heart after speaking to the high school students, but I hope that they were able to take something away from when I spoke.

  • Don’t feel sorry for me, but learn from hearing from my experience.
  • It is okay to ask for help, but understand the signs of mental illness.
  • Find that trusted adult to confined in.
  • You are not a burden on anyone’s life.
  • Treat everyone with kindness. You do not have to respect a person but you also do not know their story.
  • Lastly, just be you.

 

Thank you again for Hudson High for having me back, and for whatever reason you are reading this, you are who you are for a reason and that should be enough.

 

xoxo, Anna

One thought on “A Letter to the Students

Leave a Reply

