Lifestyle

Pursuit of Happiness

Yesterday in my English class, we got a new assignment for our next paper to write. It is based around what makes us happy. Religion? Money? Status? Is happiness a choice? I decided to write my paper on is happiness a choice. His example was does the mentally ill think that they can be happy when they are not? That really struck out to me. I have been a vocal advocate for people of all ages battling any type of mental health. I share my story because I do not want others to feel bad for me, but I want people to have an understanding about what people go through on a daily basis.

Although this is an argumentative research paper, I have decided to write on the sidelines about what someone who has suffered and still is from mental illness standpoint.

Happiness is out there.

When depression or any type of illness clouds over… it takes over. There is this dark tunnel that you go through and you pray endlessly that one day you will see the light. Now I was fortunate enough to receive help right away and be surrounded by unconditional love from roommates, grandparents, aunts, uncles, my mom and dad, my two brothers, my best friends, and my therapists. Don’t get me wrong, there have been many times where I got mad at my therapist and wanted to quit, but I couldn’t. I feel that with mindfulness, meditation, and the right routine, no matter what you are going through you will find that light to the end of the tunnel.

To anyone out there who is struggling, you’ve got this.

 

xoxo, Anncropped-15556602_1501930759837045_1473515179_o1.jpg

Leave a Reply

